Council Introduction

​​Ruapehu District Council (RDC) is the local territoral authority for the Ruapehu district.  We have our head office in Taumarunui with a second major office in Ohakune and a small service centre in Raetihi. For locations and opening hours see Council Contact Information

Ruapehu district libraries are in the same buildings as RDC offices and have the same opening hours.

RDC was established on 1 November 1989 from the former Taumarunui Borough Council, Taumarunui County Council, Waimarino County Council, Waimarino Borough Council and part of the Rangitikei County Council.

Council's leadership and governance follows the role and principles of local government as per the Local Government Act 2002 and subsequent amendments namely;

  • To enable democratic local decision-making and action by, and on behalf of, communities; and
  • To meet the current and future needs of communities for good-quality local infrastructure, local public services, and performance of regulatory functions in a way that is most cost-effective for households and businesses.

Council is supported in its role by the Waimarino-Waiouru Community Board, the National Park Community Board and the Taumarunui/Ohura Ward Committee.​  See Elected Representatives.

All Council meetings and workshops including any Community Board, Ward Committee or Maori Council meetings are generally open to the public, unless there is a reason for public to be excluded. See Meeting Dates and Information.

Local iwi and hapu have input into local decision making through the Ruapehu Maori Council (RMC). The RMC is not an elected body however it has some delegated powers and operates under a Memorandum of Understanding with Council.

Page reviewed: 31 Jul 2017 1:53pm