Council meetings and workshops

All Council meetings and workshops including any Community Board, Ward Committee or Maori Council meetings are generally open to the public, unless there is a reason for public to be excluded.

Council, Committee and Community Board meetings are run in accordance with Standing Orders as adopted at the beginning of the triennium.

Council Standing Orders 2016.pdf

Community Board Standing Orders 2016.pdf

Council meetings

In May 2018, Council reviewed its meeting schedule and agreed to meet every three weeks (from 1 July 2018).

Meetings are held in Council Chambers and alternate between Ohakune and Taumarunui 

Community Board/Ward Committee meetings

Community Board and Taumarunui/Ohura Ward Committee meetings are usually held as follows:

  • - six weekly on a Tuesday (excluding January) in either Owhango, National Park or Taumarunui  at 5.00pm.
  • - first Thursday of the month (excluding January) in the Council Chamber, Ayr Street, Ohakune or Council Chamber, Seddon Street, Raetihi at 6.00pm.
  • - last Thursday of every second month  in the Council Chamber, Huia Street, Taumarunui at 10.00am.



November 2018Location​Date and start time​
Waimarino-Waiouru Community Board​Council Chamber, Seddon Street, Raetihi​Thursday 1 November, 6:00pm
​Ruapehu District Council​Council Chamber, Huia Street, Taumarunui​Wednesday 14 November, 10:00am
​Ruapehu District Maori Council​​Council Chamber, Huia Street, Taumarunui​Friday 30 November, 10:30am
December 2018Location​Date and start time​
​Waimarino-Waiouru Community BoardTBA​Thursday 6 December, 6:00pm
Audit and Risk Committee​​Council Chamber, Huia Street, Taumarunui​Tuesday 11 December, 11:00am
National Park Community Board​TBA​Tuesday 11 December, 5:00pm
Taumarunui/Ohura Ward CommitteeCouncil Chamber, Huia Street, Taumarunui​Thursday 13 December, 10:00am
Ruapehu District CouncilThe Park Hotel, SH 4, National Park​Friday 14 December, 10:00am
​​Meeting contacts
​​Waimarino-Waiouru Community Board​John Hotter, Chairperson​06 385 8193
​​National Park Community Board​Jenni Pendleton, Chairperson​07 892 2774
​​Taumarunui/Ohura Ward Committee​Karen Ngatai, Chairperson​07 896 6658
​Ruapehu District Maori Council​Edwin Ashford, Chairperson​07 895 8905
​Audit and Risk CommitteePhilip Jones, Chairperson​​07 552 5564
​Ruapehu District Council​Don Cameron, Mayor​07 895 8188


Page reviewed: 08 Nov 2018 8:39am