New Ruapehu Youth Ambassadors


2019-03-13T11:05:00 Pacific/Auckland

Wed 13 Mar 19.

Ruapehu’s 2019 Youth Council Ambassadors for Taumarunui-Ohura and Waimarino-Waiouru will have their first joint hui this coming Monday (18 March) in Ohakune.

The award winning Ruapehu Youth Council is made up of two groups of Youth Ambassadors; the Taumarunui-Ohura Youth Ambassadors (TOYA) and the Waimarino-Waiouru Youth Ambassadors (WWYA) with each group working to represent youth from within the district and in particular, youth from their own communities.

The 2019 WWYA are; Emma Burnard, Sapphire Mapp, Hezekaya Metekingi, Sophie Coller, Tess Morris, Tayla Goff, Tarn Hoyle, Aylish Jordan, Dalton Jordan, Victoria Paoratoho and Brianna McKenna.

The 2019 TOYA are; Hannah May Johnston, Jindh Bhullar, Te Atarau McGee, Noah Smith, Katya Cummings and Te Rumana James Taiaroa – Smith

Ruapehu Youth Council Coordinator Hiraina Tawawa said that one of the things past Youth Ambassadors have said they really enjoyed about being on the Youth Council was meeting new people from different townships and communities from all around Ruapehu and further afield.

As the two groups of Ambassadors live at opposite ends of the district we like to look for opportunities to bring them together and to work on joint projects wherever possible.

Ms Tarawa said she was really impressed with the caliber of young people who had put themselves forward for the 2019 Youth Ambassador positions.

“They all demonstrate a genuine passion for their community and a desire to make a real difference to the lives of Ruapehu youth.

“I’m sure they will continue the fantastic legacy of achievement the earlier Youth Ambassadors have delivered,” she said.


Page reviewed: 13 Mar 2019 11:05am