Ruapehu Citizen of the Year Awards

Ruapehu District has two annual Citizen Awards.

  • Waimarino-Waiouru Citizen Award

  • Northern Ruapehu Award (encompassing the Ohura, Taumarunui and National Park Wards)

The Waimarino-Waiouru Award’s recipient is decided by the Waimarino-Waiouru Community Board.

The Northern Ruapehu Award is decided by a committee comprising the Ohura Ward Councillor and Chairpersons of Taumarunui/Ohura Ward Committee and National Park Community Board.

2021 nominations

Nominations for both Awards open on 1 September 2021.

Criteria for Nominees

  • Voluntary, unpaid work - going above and beyond the call of duty consistently for no personal gain.
  • Significant contribution over an extended period of time - unselfish sacrifice of time and resources.
  • Work was for the benefit of the community - participation in a range of activities.

Nomination information

  • Unsuccessful nominees may be re-nominated in subsequent years.
  • Nominations made in previous years are not automatically carried forward and fresh nominations should be made.
  • A Queen’s Honour (for example, QSM) for the same activity as the person is nominated for, renders that person ineligible for a civic award.
  • Nominations for the Citizens Awards will be called for by public notice each year.
  • Nominations should be made by two individuals or organisations. 
  • All details on the nomination form must be completed.

For further enquiries please either email the Mayor's Executive Assistant, Tessa Owen or phone 07 895 8188 ext 256.

Page reviewed: 10 Feb 2021 1:57pm