Ruapehu District Wastewater Treatment Schemes

​Ruapehu District Council manages six wastewater treatment schemes in the Ruapehu District for the collection, treatment and disposal of wastewater. These consist of treatment schemes in Taumarunui, Ohakune, Raetihi, National Park, Rangataua and Pipiriki.

In Waiouru, wastewater is transported through a Council owned and operated wastewater network to the Army Training Group, which is responsible for its treatment and disposal.

Townships such as Ohura, Owhango, and Raurimu do not have Council owned and operated Wastewater systems. These townships are serviced by septic tanks and effluent beds.

Although every wastewater treatment system is unique to the requirements and geography of the individual township, each system has a similar basic structure or Wastewater System Components.

Page reviewed: 21 Sep 2017 10:15am