Most all recyclable material can be dropped off at Ruapehu Transfer Stations for no cost. On some items where there is a cost of disposal there may be a small charge to cover transport of handling.

Costs for refuse disposal at Transfer Stations can found on the Fees and Charges page.

Transfer Stations and District Landfill​

Council operates a district Landfill and recycling centre in Taumarunui along with Transfer Stations in National park, Ohura, Owhango, Ongarue and Ohakune (Waimarino).

The locations and opening hours for these facilities​ can be found by following this link.

If you have special refuse or recycling needs or need assistance with rubbish disposal or recycling please email Dean Hosking or contact him via a local Council office.

What can I recycle at Transfer Stations?

  • Glass Bottles/Jars - except for some types as listed below
  • Metal Can/Tins - Steel and Aluminium
  • Plastic Containers/Bottles displaying recycle symbols 1 and 2
  • Newspapers
  • Other Paper/Glossies - Brown paper, magazines, books, junk mail and telephone directories
  • Cardboard - Corrugated, boxes and egg cartons

What can't I recycle or put in my Blue Bin?

The following items are unable to be recycled and will therefore incur a cost at the Transfer Station:


  • Cups,  Plates and Saucers
  • Ice Cream Containers
  • Laundry Bottles
  • Margarine Containers
  • Polystyrene Meat Trays
  • Yoghurt Containers


  • Broken Glass
  • Drinking Glasses
  • Light Bulbs
  • Mirrors
  • Pyrex or Arcroc
  • Window Glass


  • Fast-food Boxes
  • Juice Cartons
  • Painted or Waxed Paper


  • Ceramics
  • Food Scraps
  • Nappies
  • Rope
  • Paint




Page reviewed: 15 Sep 2020 3:46pm